top of page
  • Writer's pictureS. H. Pratt

Drama, Drama, Drama...


So, the indie author world loves drama. This is no secret. And social media is a hotbed of drama breeding. It seems to be a sort of viral thing. Something is said or done and BLAM! drama explosion! There is drama that is helpful; drama that is toxic; and drama that is just damn stupid.

Yes, I've seen drama be helpful. A well known indie author was hurt in a rather bizarre accident while traveling and the outpouring of support and help was a beautiful thing to see.

I've seen toxic drama... who hasn't? And oy, the stupid drama makes my head spin. Stupid drama is not helpful, it typically leads to toxic drama, and it is so unnecessary.

Recently an indie author opted to share a private argument she was having in such a way as to create concern for her health and well being. This, to my mind, was insanely stupid drama. I'd never heard of this person but was concerned after seeing numerous posts requesting prayers for her. However, after the truth surfaced, that author had destroyed any chance I would EVER read her work and had lost any potential respect I may have given. In one single Facebook post. Yes, it was that quick and that inflammatory.

Why? Why do such things? I don't know. Everyone's sales are shit. Everyone is struggling for reviews. Everyone is fighting the Amazonian/Goodreads and Facebook machines for fair treatment and visibility. Why do something that could potentially drive readers away? No blinking clue. I walked away, kind of annoyed at the antics of the other author and certain I'd never have the time of day for her or her books. It's sad really. She may be an amazing author, but I will never know because I won't read anything she writes.

I think I'll stay in my drama-free bubble and walk away from the drama - well, the toxic and stupid drama anyway.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page